Halloween Knitting

Happy Sunday, dear readers! I hope everyone is having a lovely weekend.

I finished this year’s Halloween knitting yesterday. You know, when you realize last-minute that the only thing missing to make this costume absolutely perfect is a hand-knit hat?

The thing I finished yesterday was this:

Photo on 2013-11-02 at 17.33

Can you guess what my costume was? I’ll tell you at the end of the post 🙂

The hat itself is very simple: 1×1 rib on worsted weight red acrylic with size 6 needles over 88 stitches, knit straight on size 8s in light grey (I didn’t have any white yarn D: ) until it’s 6ish inches long, then decrease 8 stitches evenly on every other row until there are 8 stitches left. Sew up, weave in ends, add a red pom-pom (not very visible in the picture) and voila!

The other article of Halloween knitting was this:

minion hat

Two strands of DK weight held together to make something resembling bulky weight. 64 stithches on size 9 needles until it’s 6 inches long, then decrease 8 stitches on every other row until there are 8 stitches left. Sew up, weave in ends, and wear.

My friend, for whom I made this hat, was dressed as a Minion from Despicable Me, and was so adorable I could hardly stand it.

As for me?

Photo on 2013-11-03 at 01.14 #3

I was a lady Where’s Waldo (or Where’s Wally, for my non-North American friends) for the screening of Rocky Horror Picture Show I attended last night.

Did you guess it? 🙂

I’ve never been a huge fan of Halloween because I never know how to dress (that strangled scream you just heard was my sister – Halloween is her favorite holiday because she loves dressing up), but I go see the Rocky Horror Picture Show screening (complete with live performers acting out the movie, audience participation, and a lot of belligerent yelling) every year, and it was just as fabulous and wonderful this year.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

