Ugh Ugh Ugh

We all know that denial is not just a river in Egypt, but the universe knocked me down a peg last night with a reminder of this fact. I’d been worrying for a while that my sweater was getting too big. The last time I’d measured, it was only 2 inches bigger around than it should have been. Which is not a big deal. I had been noticing for a while that it looked like a lot of sweater, and also I saw that I was running out of yarn. However I, like many knitters, figured that not thinking about it and also knitting faster would make the problem go away.

It didn’t.

I finally put the sweater on a longer cable needle so I could measure it properly, and I discovered this:

Image

That’s 23 and a half inches of sweater, which means that the circumference of that sweater body is 47 inches. I’m aiming for 38 inches, and the sweater kit only has enough yarn for a 42″ bust. 47 INCHES IS TOO MUCH SWEATER.

The fault, it seems, is my own silliness. I saw that the way I was carrying yarn behind my sweater was pulling at the fabric just a teensy bit, and instead of just trusting to the magic of blocking to settle the fabric, I changed my gauge mid-sweater to adjust for it. By the end I was knitting 6 stitches to the inch, instead of the target 7.

So the sweater that looked like this:

Image

(see how it gets bigger near the top? Stupid stupid Malika)

Now looks like this:

Image

Ugh.

 

P.S. This might mean that I might not finish this sweater by the end of October for the 30 day sweater challenge as intended.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Ugh Ugh Ugh”

  1. teaspoonofmel says :

    Oh, that is a devastating amount to rip back! My condolences…. and best wishes for a speedy sweater recovery!

Leave a Reply

