My name is Malika, and I’m an idiot

I was happily knitting along on the never-ending 2″ of corrugated ribbing on the bottom hem of my sweater when I decided to check my gauge again to see what I should do when I’m done with the ribbing. The target gauge for this sweater is 7 stitches per inch, and I’ve been coming in at a pretty steady 7.5 stitches per inch. I figured this was a little loose, making for a bigger sweater than I planned, but I wasn’t too worried. I often knit quite loosely, and am used to figuring that sort of thing out.

(If you see my problem, you have my blessing to laugh at me heartily)

So I did some math on how much I should decrease the stitch count by to get a 38″ body circumference. Then I did the math again. Then I re-checked my gauge and the pattern and did my math a third time. Then it hit me.

STUPID MALIKA 7.5 STITCHES PER INCH IS TOO TIGHT, NOT TOO LOSE. THIS SWEATER WILL BE CHILD-SIZED, NOT GROWN ADULT SISTER-SIZED.

I had a moment of panic when I realized that I don’t have a size 3 needle, and the size 4 was too big, and wool-be-damned I was gonna have to re-knit the sleeves and oh no oh no OH NO OH NO

 

Thankfully, I stopped running around like a headless chicken, calmed down, and realized I can just increase the stitch count all around to make a normal-sized sweater. I re-did all the calculations in the pattern to account for a 7.5 stitch per inch gauge instead of 7, and it looks like everything’s going to be fine. Except for that the sweater body is now 288 stitches around (instead of 264 like I thought), and THAT means that this sweater is going to take a loooooooooot of knitting.

Also, I have to add an extra 2 inches and 8 stitches to the sleeves.

Ugh ugh ugh.

 

I hereby relinquish my Halfway Decent Knitter credentials. I apparently couldn’t knit my way out of a paper bag with both hands and a road map.

 

In spite of all of this, I’m really enjoying the 30 day sweater challenge. The people who run it are also doing a Sweater Knitting Show, which is really fun and also helps motivate me to knit. You should go check it out! The show comes in at around 1 hr per episode, and episodes are every weekday, and I knit while I watch. Even with this new knitting setback, I think the goal of finishing the thing in 30 days is still in the realm of possibility. Maybe. Yay!

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “My name is Malika, and I’m an idiot”

  1. HannahDavis says :

    I think you get more knitting credentials for figuring out how to fix the problem! Go you!

Leave a Reply

