30 Day Sweater Challenge: Day 1

Yes, I have accepted the 30 Day Sweater Challenge! I’m really excited to participate, because the people hosting the challenge are going to great lengths to make this month a fun learning experience. They have tons of great resources, post videos every weekday, and are super encouraging.

However, I’m kind of cheating. I already made the sleeves.

The 30 day sweater challenge website gives this guiding estimate: “An average knitter can make a woman’s medium size sweater in worsted weight yarn in 30 days knitting about 90 minutes a day.” Since I’m using sport weight yarn, and using fair isle style colorwork, I figured that trying to do the whole thing in 30 days would be more than a little insane. So I gave myself a bit of a head start. Turns out, it took just shy of 2 weeks to do both sleeves, so I feel that even just knitting the body and putting the whole sweater together in 30 days is going to be a pretty intense month.

I’m really excited to take on this challenge!

Image

 

Even after that 237 stitch cast-on.

Have y’all ever done anything like this? Do you have any tips or advice for how to keep track of my progress, or stay motivated? I’ll definitely be posting pictures as I go along.

P.S. Apologies in advance for what will be continual pictures of something that looks the same every day, just bigger. I also cast on a cute cabled sock yesterday that I can knit on and post pictures of to break up the monotony. 🙂

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “30 Day Sweater Challenge: Day 1”

  1. Mistine says :

    I think it is very exciting and you’re definitely braver than me.

  2. malikamadestuff says :

    Thanks for the encouragement, y’all!
    At this point, Mistine, I’m more convinced that it’s insanity rather than bravery 😛

Leave a Reply

