That weird jog thing

I finished a Unicorn Vomit Sock and started another

Image

I had a problem on the first sock that I haven’t encountered before, because I’ve never made socks on DPNs before:

Image

This is a terrible picture, but you can just barely see it in the middle: there’s a weird line going up each “corner” of the sock (both sides, top, and bottom) where I switch from one needle to the next – a kind of wonky jog. You can sort of see it in the top picture, too. I haven’t figured out if this is caused by that stitch or two where the needles meet being too loose or too tight, since no tension-adjusting that I tried to get rid of it worked.

I fixed this problem on sock #2 by rotating the sock around the four needles. Each time I finish moving all the stitches from one needle to the next, I knit one stitch from the next-next needle, so the “corner” is never in the same place. This is working out rather well, since I can’t see any corners on sock #2. But it sure is fiddly and annoying.

Have y’all had this problem? How did you solve it? Can I just block it out?

Ā 

I’m working the Nashville Comic Expo this weekend (I’M SO EXCITED), so I probably won’t have much knitting time. However, I am an aggressively unfailing optimist, so I’ll bring some knitting with me: the Unicorn Vomit Sock and this other half-finished pair that I found lying around.

Image

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “That weird jog thing”

  1. Mistine says :

    I use the magic loop method for most of my circular knitting and I can tell you the easiest way to get rid of that jog mess is much easier than rotating stitches. That just takes too much time as you’ve experienced. You also lose track of the beginning stitch very easily.

    Here is how I do it.

    I work the first stitch as normal. I work the second stitch, but before I drop the yarn off my left-hand needle (takes some practice since this is automatic with knitting) I pull the yarn to tighten. This allows you to tighten the excess yarn but not over-tighten. Leaving both stitches (for lack of better words) on the needle gives you leverage and it is easier to complete the tightening.

    I’m not very good at explanations, but happy to take a photo that demonstrates this tactic — just let me know šŸ™‚ This method has been a lifesaver since I discovered it. I cannot take credit, I read it somewhere else.

    • Mistine says :

      Actually I just thought of how to explain — now that I’ve posted my comment lol.

      Work the first stitch.

      Insert your needle into the next stitch to work and wrap your yarn on the needle as though to knit/purl whatever you’re doing but don’t take the stitch off your left needle after pulling the loop through with the right needle. Leave both old and new on and then give a nice tug.

      Not too hard, just enough to get rid of excess. You’ll get it right the first time so don’t fuss over how hard šŸ™‚

      • malikamadestuff says :

        Thanks for the tip! That’s actually almost exactly what I do to get rid of the jog when I make socks using magic loop, except I tug before I start the second stitch, and keep holding the yarn tight while I make the second stitch.

        I’m experimenting with making socks on DPNs so I can get closer to knitting history, even though I find it to be easier and faster (and less jog-y) using magic loops. Knitters of yore must have had a method of getting rid of jogs, right?? šŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

