Lots of Thunder and Yarn

When I checked the mail this morning, this was waiting for me:

Image

My Knit Picks order!

I would be more upset at the havoc wreaked on this poor box by the US Postal Service, but it’s a box full of yarn so nothing at all could upset me. Inside was this:

Image

A kit to make Kelley’s Ski Sweater (it was on SO MUCH SALE), plus a different accent color (the dark purple on the far bottom right – yeah I know, not very accent-y against the dark brown), and the Fall 2012 issue of Interweave Knits. It was so relaxing to curl up on the couch with my knitting pattern and magazine, surrounded by wool, while a very loud thunderstorm raged outside.

I started researching how to ply singles into yarn on my drop spindle (never done it before), but then there was this GIANT thunderclap, I nearly jumped out of my skin, and the electricity in my house went out. So… I winged it.

I had my singles wrapped around coke bottles (I had read somewhere that coke bottles make decent bobbins-on-a-budget) in my re-purposed knitpicks box so they wouldn’t roll around

Image

And fed the yarn up to the spindle, spinning the opposite direction from how I made my singles. After some cussing, quite a few tangles, and no idea how much twist I should be putting in, I made this:

Image

Ta-da! Here’s a closeup:

Image

The yarn colors and thickness change every inch or so (the first is delightful, the second is because I’m a derpy beginner, but still the end result is delightful), so it’s really interesting to look at, spin, and ply, and hopefully it’ll be fun to knit with.

I have no way of knowing if I did it right at all. Except I know I did this wrong:

Image

I didn’t make my singles an equal length, so there’s some left over. No biggie, though, since I still have about half of the roving left.

Now that my electricity and internet is back on (yay!), I’ll go see how close my yarn is to how yarn is supposed to be. And maybe I’ll knit something out of it. Ideas? I was thinking of a pair of cute fingerless glove things. The fiber content is 100% Merino, so it should be quite warm.

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Lots of Thunder and Yarn”

  1. Geraldine says :

    love those pkgs. arriving! I’m waiting for a yarn order too. can’t wait to see what you make with yours.

  2. teaspoonofmel says :

    Yep, I love seeing that Knitpicks logo in the mail!

Leave a Reply

