Sweater Progress (No, Really!)

Happy Labor Day! I hope all you Americans have been taking advantage of the long weekend to do some extra crafting 🙂

I have certainly been busy making things this weekend. I even started working on my sweater again (huzzah!).

For those of you who haven’t been lucky enough to have this experience, this is what happens when you leave a sweater-in-progress alone for almost a year:

Image

Before you can even start knitting again, you spend 30 minutes reading over the pattern, trying to decipher your god-forsaken useless scribblings old notes, trying on the sweater to make sure it still fits, doing some math and re-figuring and writing new notes so you don’t torture confuse yourself again later.

I mentioned before that I’m completely throwing out deviating from the pattern to change the neckline, and I think I’ve figured out how to do it. I worked the round-the-yoke decreases until, when I put all the stitches on scrap yarn and tried the sweater on, the front was an inchish shy of where I want the neckline to be (roundabouts my collarbone – yeah, we here at Look! I Made Stuff are extremely precise). Then I started working the shoulder saddles back and forth, bringing them closer to my neck without adding length to the front and back.

My progress so far:

Image

Once I’ve done that, I’ll put the stitches on scrap yarn again and try it on. I think I might have to bring the back up a bit (working back and forth, as for the shoulders), and when the whole thing is an inchish shy of where I want it, I’ll figure out my next step.

My big question is, how should I finish the neckline? My options:

  1. My first thought was to do a 2×2 ribbing (pretty standard) so it’s stretchy and finished-looking. But this sweater has no ribbed edging on the bottom or sleeves, so it might look out of place on the neckline.
  2. I could do a ribbing that is in line with the cabled pattern, but that might not be stretchy enough to hold its shape, and also might look like crap.
  3. The original pattern calls for a really simple rolled stockinette stitch neckline. But this wouldn’t be very stretchy, and could make the wider neckline hang strangely.
  4. I could get my hands on some elastic thread and work that into either option 2 or option 3 to make it keep its shape better.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

In other crafting news: look what I got at Michael’s for $1 and then proceeded to finish at the speed of light over the weekend:

Image

Sometimes a little cross-crafting can be healthy. This is counted cross-stitch. I haven’t done cross-stitch in years, and I’m still trying to decide if I like it.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

