Staring me down

First, my reasons for posting:

  1. I promised to show you pictures of my other projects, so you don’t have to stare at yet another picture of the growing Wooleater.
  2. Maybe if I post pictures of UFOs, I’ll be motivated to actually work on them.

And, without further ado, here is the monster sweater that has been hanging over my head for the past year:

Image

No, the arms aren’t mis-matched, I just have them turned different ways so you can see the texture on both sides (cables on the outside, moss/seed stitch on the inside of the arm).

Here’s a more detailed picture of the cables on the front:

Image

The actual color is a lovely dark dusty purple, not the fuzzy bluish nonsense shown in the picture.

I’m knitting An Aran for Frederick from the first Jane Austen Knits (http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/an-aran-for-frederick) using Lion Brand’s worsted weight Wool-Ease (http://www.ravelry.com/yarns/library/lion-brand-wool-ease-solids-heathers-twists) in “Violet.”

It’s a man’s sweater pattern, so I’m adapting it a bit to fit me. First, some subtle waist shaping to be more flattering on my elegant feminine figure (ha!), and I’m also completely re-doing the neckline to be less tight and more boat-neck-y. Kind of like this (http://lepetittrianon.tumblr.com/post/56774197777/a-fine-fleece-by-lisa-lloyd) but not really.

I know that’s not very specific. Hell, I don’t even really know what I’m talking about. I’m planning to sort of make it up as I go (always an excellent plan), which scares me, which is the main reason why it has been sitting untouched in its project bag for the past 11 months.

Alright readers. If you’re out there, your job is to peer pressure me into finishing this sweater. It’s gonna be so lovely and warm when it’s done, right? You can’t wait to see pictures of the finished project, right? Right??

In the meantime, I have carefully placed it at the foot of the couch so it will stare me down until I pick it up and finish it.

Image

Purple Aran says: “Why are you blogging? Why are you playing video games? You should be knitting meeeeeeeeeee…”

P.S. Sorry for the poor quality pictures! My proper camera’s charger is MIA, so all I’m left with is my stupid awful crappy cell phone camera.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Staring me down”

  1. Geraldine says :

    looking good!

    now following your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

